common courtesy

is it too much to ask
Yesterday to wipe its feet
at the door before entering
or Time to hang its
shadowy coat upon the hook
on the back of my door
I don’t much care for the traces
tracked across the floor
or the dark reminders draped
over the back of my chair
so if you please,
show a little common courtesy
and Tomorrow, when you ring the bell
a warming gift, perhaps merlot,
would not be remiss
Death, I do apologize,
your invite must have been
misplaced in the mail

© Sarah Whiteley

2 thoughts on “common courtesy

  1. Sarah, pop by my blog to pick up your Kreativ Blogger Award. Please don’t feel obligated to post or to share. I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog and wanted to share it with others:)

Leave a Reply

