the thesaroarasaurus

there’s a thesaroarasaurus
that stalks my library
he wanders through the bookshelves
perusing A through Z

his feet leave giant imprints
upon the hardwood floor
for the thesaroarasaurus
never wipes them at the door

the way he handles pages
is such a sore disgrace
for he bends the upper corners
so he doesn’t lose his place

he drools upon the pages
and licks the title spines
he doesn’t care about the yuck
and never pays his fines

for when a thesaroarasaurus
loves the books he’s reading
he doesn’t know “devour a book”
does not refer to eating

there’s a thesaroarasaurus
hiding in the stacks
I think I’ll go check out a book
please pray that I come back

© Sarah Whiteley

13 Comments

  1. sarah,

    i love this new look of your blogpage. and the header, so poignantly touching. i love its stark simplicity.

    about this poem, this is something witty and comedic. i like how you put the rhyming words keeping track of the storyline. fantastic!

    Like

    Reply

    1. I’m glad you like the new look – I was going for a touch of nostalgia, but I wanted to stay away from dark… the old colors were starting to feel a little heavy to me.

      Glad you enjoyed the thesaroarasaurus… I had to giggle while writing it and typing and giggling at the same time are usually frowned upon at the office… alas!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Hey… wasn’t Ebbtide two words before? Or am I losing it a little bit? Well, I was very pleasantly surprised to see the new color scheme and header. For me, it’s rather daydreamy, and I go into a little reverie…

    That is, until the thesaroarasaurus! 🙂 Too funny! I was going to say more about it. hmmm…

    I notice that one of the tags is procrastinating. I had been curious about the recent poems on Ebbtide. Seem, “different.” But that tag might say a lot, in one word.

    I love this new look to Ebbtide.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Hmm… now you’ve got me questioning it – I thought it was always one word but now I have to go back and look!

    Yes, this is what I do when I procrastinate. I justify it by saying that I’ve got something stuck in my head and if I don’t get it out, I’ll never be able to move onto the next thing. Which probably isn’t completely true, but handy as an excuse all the same.

    Glad you like the new color scheme! 😉

    Like

    Reply

  4. Ok, I knew your blog name was displaying as two words somewhere. It’s Ebb Tide (two words) in the browser title on Firefox, at the very top. Not the blog title, the browser title. Also in Internet Explorer.

    Just an FYI.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment