elevator storm

you and I
pave paths of heat
of kicked off shoes
and hurriedly emptied shirts
what use a map
when exploratory fingers
blaze intrepid trails
for tongues to follow
in unhindered bliss
hands like summer thunder
avidly gather and crash
igniting pools of ozone
trapped in curves of elbows
and slick dips of hips
sudden storms scatter gasps
and blazing skin
awaits the rush
of fevered drowning
in the frantic depths
of joined breaths
you and I
draw tight the need
bind the rising heat
between us
punch the “L”
and leave the elevator
empty

© Sarah Whiteley

11 thoughts on “elevator storm

    1. I was on lunch at my desk, had my earbuds in, typing away,… NO idea how long he was standing behind me though I think the look on his face spoke volumes.

  1. I love this, it’s just wonderful. Very tactile, very visual.
    And – as an added bonus – I just spotted your ‘omgmybossjustsawthis’ tag!!!
    🙂

  2. I love the vivid language (which you do so well). Favorite lines? “hands like summer thunder / avidly gather and crash / igniting pools of ozone” Your reader can taste the electricity of the rising storm in the air.
    Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

