Thud

Well, the expected Thud! arrived last Thursday. Am I disappointed? Yes. But I’m not in the least discouraged. It doesn’t exactly feel good to get a rejection, but strangely enough, I don’t feel bad about it either. It feels more like an inevitable step in the process and my first official rejection is like a milestone.

I haven’t yet decided whether to re-submit the same piece to another publication. Leaning toward yes, and I already have one or two places in mind from my short-list. It feels good to try at any rate, and as long as it continues to do so, I believe I’ll continue to submit my work.

4 thoughts on “Thud

  1. i doono what you submitted but at any rate – yes! you should try again, the same work and others. you have a great and unique voice. in general, i guess, you will get more rejections than acceptances, so any how you will have to send few times…

    good luck…

  2. It’s been a while – and these are just the words of encouragement I needed. So from one unique voice to another wonderfully unique voice – thank you!

  3. Just keep submitting. As I think I said in a comment when you started this process, to an extent, it’s a numbers game.

    Well, that’s what the faculty tell me. They have to do it as part of their research. So they enter competitive shows frequently. And also, you begin to get a better feel for the process, etc.

Leave a Reply

