today I shall be

today I shall be not quite
and content with blurred edges
companioned by sounds that are muffled
by the silences my maybe head makes

today I shall sit and be potentially
with a chance of feasibility
and the rustle of a few quiet thoughts
that might or might not be there

today I shall be perchance
and take rest in the promise of my perhaps
while softly September might possibly stir
whatever is or is not here

© Sarah Whiteley

To say that I am tired would be an understatement. The first of the work deadlines is behind me and it was Brutal (yes, with a capital ‘B’) – long days and no weekends and a forced working pace that nearly brought me to tears a few times. So it’s no surprise that I’ve got quite a bit of post reading to catch up on. Today, however, I think will be about recovery. I’ll eventually get around to catching up, but I think my sanity insists upon a little ‘disconnect’ for now.

11 thoughts on “today I shall be

    1. Thanks, Kathleen! Hopefully the worst is behind me! I’ll have a lull for this week and then work will pick back up again to crazy levels. The good news is it’s half over!

      1. I thought you might have a day off today – made me smile when I read all your comments! Glad you are half way done with this season. My busy season starts at year end. Then an intense few months before things settle down. Rest up, friend, get your second wind and it will be done soon! K

Leave a Reply

