days like this

days like this it’s best to go home
pour a couple fingers of something stiffer
than the current state of your knees
and think about the things that do make sense
like opening the window and letting in December
for a few brisk moments and turning up that jazz
until the riffs absolve you of the sins of the day
– just for a minute, anyway –
or living off the vicarious high of the dogs’
hello’ing tails grinning with a jubilance I think
god reserved just for the canines of the world
or maybe just saying I love you to the ones
who don’t hear it often enough
a stiff drink and a brisk wind might not fix
what ails our hearts, but it’s a better
remembrance than simply breaking apart
under the fearsome brunt of days like this

© Sarah Whiteley

11 thoughts on “days like this

    1. I may have found words to express my way of coping, but I cannot for the life of me find the words to express my absolute horror. So I know exactly what you mean about not being able to put pen to paper on something like this.

      A great big hug to you, too. You’re a very special person – I see it in all that you share with us. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

