shower thoughts

things have changed

my hands are cracked now,
for one thing,
and red where the too hot water
from the shower hits them

the burning stays

everything else seems to go,
though, in one direction
or another, somewhere
other than here anyway

I wrote you

someplace there’s a draft of us
waiting on the final edits,
before we close
that envelope for good

things have changed

my elbows are older,
for another thing,
and I’ve let the gray grow in
like a reminder of who I’m not

but my shoulders miss you

and the water’s still hot

© Sarah Whiteley

13 thoughts on “shower thoughts

  1. Oh…I do love this poem…one of my favorite lines is “I’ve let the gray grow in
    like a reminder of who I’m not…”….seems so perfect to me…I shall remember for sometime.

Leave a Reply

