finding sunlight

I know well the reasons for reticence
I know why it is the words dissolve
like salt in my mouth before I can free them

I have met and broken bread with
the darkest shades of myself –
I faced the ache and did not gaze away

yet you find ways to burst through me –
the fierce blue of your joy finding handholds
and teethholds between the cracks

and when your fingers find and mark
the quickening in my wrist, or your lips
the love thrashing between my breasts, I let loose
the fear and wondrously find the sunlight here

© Sarah Whiteley

5 thoughts on “finding sunlight

Leave a Reply

