certainty of spring

a slow chain of greening begins beneath –
unseen, sneaking through damp earths

a stealthy pushing aside of rocks
and winter for worm-paths and pale roots
sending tentative inquiries further afield

spring seeks surfaces in the same way
the yellow-beaked robins break the dirt –
in the same manner leaf-buds seek an April sun –

an abiding search for choicer feasts
and a respite from waiting, bare-branched,
until we can say with certainty spring has begun

© Sarah Whiteley

I hope you’ll forgive my absence lately – I’m smack dab in the middle of the spring tax deadlines and it doesn’t leave much space for reading or writing or cloud gathering. Of course the head cold isn’t helping any of that either.

But be well, and I’ll catch up when I can!

8 thoughts on “certainty of spring

  1. How I crave “a respite from waiting” for those worms and pale roots to push through (even as you wait for a work season of less push..) Sorry about that code id da doze…..get well soon!

    1. thad id exactly how I soud righd dow 🙂 hoping spring shows its colors out your way soon, Cynthia! know it’s been a hard winter for so many this year

    1. thank you, Francina! I’m getting there, slowly but surely – hoping I’ll be able to enjoy spring sunshine and easy breathing this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

